Goldenes Kreuz

Coburg Germany

Tradition in Change

Coburg is a culturally rich city joining history and modernity to a unique city image.

For a long time, Coburg was the manor of the Dukes of Sachsen-Coburg and Gotha and served as a place to meet European aristocracy. The appearance of the city is mainly determined by the medieval architecture, castles and palaces: Palace Ehrenburg and its Palace Square, State Theatre, the Palace Edinburgh (Chamber of Commerce at Coburg, Bürglassschlösschen (registry office) and the Veste Coburg determined.Palais Edinburg and the Fortress Coburg.

The Fortress Coburg, called as Franconian Crown, rises 150 meters over the city and provides its visitors magnificent view over Coburg and its surroundings reaching to the Thuringian Forest. Even in the Thirty Years' War, the Fortress was never destroyed.

The historic restaurant Goldenes Kreuz is situated in the heart of Coburg - at the Market Square, picturesquely embedded into old architecture as half-timbered houses and Gothic buildings. The Market Square with its restored houses, beautiful fountains and idyllic green areas is a unique platform for Coburg's modern events: Palace Square Feast, Coburg's Dumpling Market, Christmas Market and the world-wide known International Samba Festival attract each year thousands of visitors.

Starting from the Goldenes Kreuz, you can reach the the most places of interest on foot. In between your sightseeing tours make a rest in our Restaurant Goldenes Kreuz!

Attractions

The most attractions of Coburg are in a few minutes walk from the Restaurant Goldenes Kreuz.

For your conveniance we provide you below the detailed information on the main places of interest and the distance to them. We will be happy to serve you a Franconian dinner in between your sightseeing tours.

Events

Many of the Coburg Events take place directly at our historic Restaurant Goldenes Kreuz. Whether for a short rest or an extensive dinner- we will be happy to serve you in our historic tavern at the Coburg Market Square.

BOOK A TABLE

Coburg Samba Festival

The largest samba festival outside of Rio is celebrating its 26th anniversary and in 2017 well over 3,000 artists and 200,000 visitors from all over the world will conjure up Brazilian flair in downtown Coburg. The festival has become one of the great figureheads as well as an image and economic factor of the city of Coburg. In 2011 the festival was awarded the "Bavarian Export Prize" from the Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs. According to calculations, an additional 4.5 million euros will flow into the city on the Samba weekend, from which hotels, restaurateurs and stand operators in particular benefit. In 2014 the festival was happy to receive the award for "Best Samba Event Outside Brazil", given by the Edison Carneiro Prize.




Coburg Bird Shooting

This is the most traditional and the eldest folk festival of Coburg. 10 days long visitors have fun on the amusement rides and enjoy special music program and gastronomic delights.



Coburg Dumpling Market

In these days, the Coburg's speciality - the dumpling - reigns the city and the buzz on the market square. Coburg's guests can learn inconceivable varieties of dumpling and potatoe dishes. The dumpling festival is accompanied by music shows from jazz to folklore.



Coburg Christmas Market

The Coburg Christmas Market is known for its magical atmosphere. It starts with the lampion procession of the Coburg Children's Choir at the Fortress Coburg and proceeds on the Coburg Market Square.

The Christmas Market is daily from 11 a.m. till 8 p.m. (snacks and drinks till 9.30 p,m.) till the 23th of December open. The Christmas market booths offer a wide range of exclusively Chrstmas and regional products. Local artisans show their crafts and sell theirs works.The visitors can observe how basket makers, glassblower and wood carvers do theirs job.

Specials

candle light dinner

on the gallery in the courtyard

1.01.2019 – 31.12.2021

The recommendation of the house

Argentinian beef fillet on rapeseed flowers with potato gratin and bearnaise sauce

25.12.2015 – 26.12.2022

Goldenes Kreuz

Coburg

Werte und Wandel

Coburg ist eine kulturreiche historische Stadt, welche gekonnt Geschichte und Moderne verbindet.

Lange Zeit war die Stadt der Herrschaftssitz der Herzöge von Sachsen-Coburg und Gotha und diente als der Treffpunkt des europäischen Hochadels . Das Bild der Stadt wird maßgeblich durch die mittelalterliche Architektur und Schlossbauten wie das Schloss Ehrenburg mit seinem Schlossplatz, das Landestheater, das Palais Edinburg (IHK zu Coburg, Bürglassschlösschen (Standesamt) und die Veste Coburg bestimmt.

Die Veste - die “fränkische Krone” - ragt 150 m über der Stadt und ist eine der bedeutendsten Festungsanlagen, welche auch im 30-jährigen Krieg niemals zerstört wurde. Von hier aus hat man einen atemberaubenden Ausblick auf die Residenzstadt Coburg und die Umgebung bis zum Thüringer Wald.

Das historische Gasthaus Goldenes Kreuz liegt im Herzen der Altstadt - am Marktplatz, welcher mit seinen alten Gebäuden ein attraktives Zentrum mit viel Atmosphäre bildet. Stilvoll restaurierte fränkische Fachwerkhäuser, malerische Brunnen und idyllische Grünanlagen bilden eine einzigartige Kulisse für attraktive Coburger Events und moderne Veranstaltungen: das Schlossplatzfest, der Klößmarkt und der Weihnachtsmarkt ziehen Tausende Besucher an. Und einmal jährlich verwandelt sich Coburg in eine bunte Tanzstadt - ganz Europa tanzt beim weltweit größten Sambafestival außerhalb Brasiliens.

Die meisten Sehenswürdigkeiten Coburgs sind vom Restaurant Goldenes Kreuz fußläufig erreichbar. Zur Pause oder Abschluss Ihrer Erkundungstour freuen wir uns auf Ihren Besuch im Goldenen Kreuz!

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Die Sehenswürdigkeiten Coburgs sind fußläufig vom Goldenes Kreuz erreichbar.

Zu Ihrer Information haben wir Ihnen die Entfernungen und einen Zeithinweis hinzugefügt. Zur Pause oder Abschluss Ihrer Erkundungstour freuen wir uns auf Ihren Besuch im Goldenen Kreuz!

Veranstaltungen

Viele Coburger Veranstaltungen finden in der direkten Nähe zu unserem historischen Restaurant Goldenes Kreuz statt. Ob für eine kleine Pause, oder ein ausgiebiges Dinner - wir freuen uns, Sie in unserem historischen Gasthaus zu begrüßen!

TISCH RESERVIEREN


14.07. - 16.07.2017

Samba - Festival

Das größte Samba-Festival außerhalb Rio´s jährt sich zum 26. Mal und auch 2017 werden weit über 3.000 Künstler und 200.000 Besucher aus aller Welt in die Coburger Innenstadt brasilianisches Flair zaubern. Das Festival ist eines der großen Aushängeschilder, sowie ein Image- und Wirtschaftsfaktor der Stadt Coburg geworden. Im Jahr 2011 wurde das Festival mit dem “Exportpreis Bayern” des Bayerischen Wirtschaftsministeriums ausgezeichnet. Berechnungen zu Folge fließen am Samba-Wochenende rund 4,5 Millionen Euro zusätzlich in die Stadt, von denen vor allem Hotels, Gastronomen, sowie Standbetreiber profitieren. 2014 freute sich das Festival dann noch über die Auszeichnung “Bestes Samba-Event außerhalb Brasiliens”, verliehen durch den Edison Carneiro Preis.


26.08 - 28.08.2016

Coburger Klößmarkt

Zur dieser Zeit steht das Treiben auf dem Coburger Marktplatz ganz im Zeichen der Coburger Klöße. Der kulinarische Genuss rund um Klöße und andere Erdäpfel-Varianten bestimmt das Marktfest. Dazu gibt es viel Unterhaltung und Musik zwischen Jazz und Folklore.


25.11 - 23.12.2016

Coburger Weihnachtsmarkt

Der Coburger Weihnachtsmarkt zählt zu den stimmungsvollsten in Franken. Mit einem Lampionumzug des Coburger Kinderchores durch die Altstadt von Coburg kündigt sich am Freitag vor dem ersten Advent die Eröffnung des Weihnachtsmarktes in der Vestestadt an. Täglich von 11.00 bis 20.00 Uhr (Imbiss und Getränke bis 21.30 Uhr) ist die kleine Budenstadt im Herzen der historischen Innenstadt bis 23. Dezember geöffnet. Neben den klassischen Verkaufsständen - an denen ausschließlich weihnachtliche und einheimische Produkte angeboten werden - tummeln sich hier auch viele Kunsthandwerker aus der Region. Besucher können Korbflechter, Kunstglasbläser oder Holzschnitzer bei der Arbeit beobachten. Jedes Jahr gibt es im Coburger Landestheater ein Weihnachtsmärchen mit Aufführungsterminen.

Angebote

Candle-Light-Dinner

Auf der Galerie im Innenhof

1.01.2016 – 1.01.2019